I Dreamed I Died Last Night

I had the most bizarre dream last night. Oyá and Obatalá both came to me, she a blinding white light and Oyá dressed darkly. “You were never meant to live this long,” they told me. “And tonight, you die so you can start fresh.”

 I wasn’t sick. There was no pain. There was fear, of the unknown. And when they reached out to me it felt like I was falling backwards, almost into sleep but not quite. Then everything went dark. No light. No heaven. No orishas. No G-d. It was nothing. More importantly – I don’t think I cared because I wasn’t conscious. If I could compare it to anything, it was like a long, dreamless sleep.

 I woke up this morning sore, stiff, confused. Emotionless. I don’t remember any dreams other than that one, but I feel as if I had to fight my way back somehow. It’s disconcerting.

 Has anyone else ever had a dream like that?

4 thoughts on “I Dreamed I Died Last Night

  1. Yes, I have had dreams like that all through my life, not with Oya and Obatalá, but with the nothingness and other feelings you describe. I think these dreams come when I’m about to make a big decision or embark on a new venture that makes me feel anxious and overwhelmed. It happens when I’m emotionally and mentally exhausted. I think it’s the subconscious’s way of telling us to take it easy and not stress out, no hay mal que dure 100 años ni cuerpo que lo resista, whatever is causing the anxiety and stress is not that important, just go on with your life and do the best you can. When the time comes to die, you die, and that’s it. No need to worry in advance about that, it’s inevitable, so just make the best of what time you have. Hopefully you will live to a ripe old age, and be surrounded by loved ones when the time comes.

  2. Are you familiar with the meaning of the “Death” card from the tarot? I think its interpretation could apply quite well to this dream. It’s not quite about death, but more about letting go of things in your life that might be holding you back from moving forward and evolving – or reaching greater potential.

    Jonathan Baker786-234-7607jonb1982@live.com

    Date: Mon, 15 Feb 2016 14:12:49 +0000 To: jonb1982@live.com

  3. I had a dream that my Eleggua died, and I was crying out for him… “EELLEEEGGUUAAAAA!!”, and I was in tears. Then he was reborn and grew back to become his same self, but very clean.

  4. When I have such vivid dreams that I recall so well it always comes to fruition. Like the death card meaning the end of one phase and the beginning of a higher existence. Oya being the warrior, successful business woman and Obatala peace and enlightenment how wonderful is that?

Comments are closed.