New Classes – During the Day!

Since I began teaching late 2010, early 2011, I’ve had many requests for daytime classes. Because I’ve always taught part time and worked full time elsewhere, I’ve never had the freedom to teach during the morning or afternoon hours.

 

Well, folks, all of that has changed. I’m teaching full time, and I’m ready to start teaching during the day.

 

The following class begins on Tuesday, February 23: The Basics of Lucumí Divination. Here are the basics that you might want to know about this course.

 

Instructor: Ócháni Lele (B. Stuart Myers); bstuartmyers@gmail.com.

 

Textbook: The Secrets of Afro-Cuban Divination (Destiny Books, 2000). Please note that this textbook is required of all students. I prefer that everyone have a hard copy, not an eBook copy.

 

Obi, Oracle of Cuban Santería (Destiny Books, 2001). Please note that this textbook is required of all students. I prefer that everyone have a hard copy, not an eBook copy.

 

Recommended texts: For this class, I suggest reading Osogbo: Speaking to the Spirits of Misfortune (Destiny Books, 2014).

 

For additional reading, I suggest Teachings of the Santería Gods (Destiny Books, 2010) and Diloggún Tales of the Natural World (Destiny Books, 2011). These books are recommended but not required; they are merely suggestions. Remember: no one has ever dropped dead from reading a book. We are here to expand our minds and learn.

 

Length of course: the core curriculum consists of thirteen weeks. I have another three weeks booked for you all because, depending on your interests and aptitudes, we may venture into some Lucumí cosmology, ontology, and philosophy. Also, depending on the needs of the class, we might be together a bit longer. It depends on how well we flow in sync with the syllabus, and it depends on how much work you put into your studies. The more you give me as students, the more I give you as your teacher.

 

Cost: $250.00

 

Class Objectives: There are two major objectives in this class: to give students the ability to cast obi in a ritual context and to give students the skills needed to cast diloggún. Interpretive skills for obi are covered in this class; however, interpretive skills for diloggún will be covered in a separate class.

 

If you’d like a full syllabus, or if you’d like to register, please write to me at bstuartmyers@gmail.com. Please note that class size is limited to 10 students.

