Day Two: Project 256

Winding down for bed, I’m studying the material in my book “The Diloggún” regarding the odu Okana Ejioko (1-2). I’m also comparing it with my private notes I’ve gathered and studied over the years, things that have never made it to publication (and might not ever make it to publication). What fascinates me most about this odu is that the ebó to egun was born in this pattern, the plate that uses nine pieces of coconut, palm oil, and guinea pepper. The reason it was created wasn’t for the most altruistic of purposes. Okana herself created this ebó; she used it as an attempt at Shangó’s seduction. For Okana was obsessed with the orisha Shangó, but no matter what she did nothing worked. It’s one of the many reasons she became so embittered in her youth. Unreturned love becomes obsession; and obsession leads to pain. An orisha as powerful as Shangó cannot be overcome with witchcraft. And this is the reason Shangó is so important to not only this odu, but all the odu in the corpus of Okana.

And as I go to sleep, I’m thinking about my favorite proverbs from this sign:

• There is no person more blind than he who refuses to see.
• The one who ends all beginnings is death.
• Sickness is the same no matter how it arrives: by land or by sea.
• A snake does not escape over a fence while a farmer watches.
• The one who ends the war is Death.

The key to understanding odu is found in the interpretation of both patakís and proverbs. Between these and the material found in the book, this should be more than enough to get hungry minds thinking.

Ócháni Lele

3 thoughts on “Day Two: Project 256

  1. For those of you who want to know more about Okana and her obsession with Shango (or her unhealthy obsession with finding love), the patakis in chapter one of “Teachings of the Santeria Gods” might help you sort it out. When writing about Okana, I wrote about her life in exclusion of all else. And if I do say so myself, the patakis are brilliant!

Comments are closed.